Local author publishes career help book

BY KASANDRA DASILVA

Not knowing your next step can be frustrating; former Zurich resident Sarah Vermunt knows plenty about that.

Instead of letting the frustration get the best her, she moved on with grace and set her mind to what she really wanted to do with her life, be a career coach.

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.15.25 AM

Courtesy: Careergasm

Right out of high school Vermunt went to Ryerson University to pursue journalism, and picked television broadcast journalism as her specialty. After achieving her undergrad there, she realized she did not want to go down that career path.

“I graduated from school and was like I don’t actually want to do this, but I wasn’t sure of what I wanted to do,” she said.

She ended up going back to school and achieved a masters degree in leadership studies from the University of Guelph, and then got her masters degree in organizational behaviour and human resources management.

With all her leadership skills, her interest in workplace behaviour, and her own personal experience, she knew that being a career coach was what she wanted to do.

“I have always been fascinated by all the physiological stuff that happens at work, and that’s what motivated me to get a PhD,” she said.

Four years ago Vermunt was in the middle of getting her PhD when she decided that it was not what she wanted, and knew that either way she was going to start her own career coaching business.

“I was four years into my PhD when I decided to quit, and that is how Careergasm happened,” she said.

Careergasm is Vermunt’s career coaching business, where she does things differently than majority of coaching businesses.

She says that most career coaches rely on strategy and the fundamentals with those who already know what they want to do with their career. Instead of focusing on the resumes and interview prep she helps people who have no clue what they want to do.

“I help people figure out what they want, so they can quit the jobs they hate,” she said.

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 12.15.48 AM

Courtesy: Careergasm

Vermunt has been writing articles full of her career and self help advice. She has written for Forbes, The Huffington Post, Entrepeuner, and many more media outlets throughout North America. Now she has taken her advice to write her first book, which was released in March.

Currently her book ‘Careergasm: Find Your Way To Feel-Good Work’ is the number one career book in Canada.

“I wanted to something that was more substantial than single articles. I have learnt so much about myself and the people I work with that I thought I could pull some interesting stories together to help other people find work that feels good to them,” she says.

Vermunt says that she feels as if she has always been a writer at heart. She had worked at the Exeter Times Advocate one summer, and graduated from the journalism program at Ryerson University, but that was not the type of writing she was into.

“It just was not the right kind of writing for me. It was not super intimate, cheeky, and it did not have bits about my own my life in it, and this book does,” she said.

Now that Vermunt has a successful business based out of Toronto, her book on the rise, and also gives lectures about her work, she says that she owes a lot of her success to being raised back home in Huron County.

“I always learned to work really hard back home, but also to have lots of fun. I signed up for every activity back in high school, and that really opened me up as a person,” she said.

You can learn more about Sarah’s business and her book at www.careergasm.com.

Leave a Reply

